Path: ISSHA » Welcome to ISSHA » Awards


ISSHA offers several types of awards; achievement awards, travel awards to the ICHA conferences and awards to support international courses and workshops.


The Yasumoto Lifetime Achievement Award

This award was established in 2000. The name of the award was chosen to honor Prof. Takeshi Yasumoto, eminent and charismatic member of ISSHA, for his outstanding contribution to the field of microalgal toxins. Prof Yasumoto donated the award he received for his Japan Academy Imperial Prize (2004) to the ISSHA Lifetime Achievement award.

This award is offered in recognition of a long and outstanding record of contribution to harmful algal research by an ISSHA member (see the membership list). Previous recipients: Max Taylor (2000), Grethe R. Hasle (2002), Theodore J. Smayda (2002), Donald.M. Anderson (2006), Karen A. Steidinger (2008), Yasuwo Fukuyo (2010) and Barrie Dale (2010); Ojvind Moestrup (2012); Gustaaf Hallegraeff (2014), Michael Quilliam and Allan Cembella (2016).

The Patrick Gentien Young Scientist Award

Following recommendations from the Awards Committee and after acceptance from the ISSHA Council and the ISSHA members gathered at the General Assembly, the Young Scientist Award, established in 2010, has been renamed as the "Patrick Gentien Young Scientists Award". Patrick Gentien (1950-2010), from the IFREMER laboratory in Brest, was an enthusiastic scientist who devouted his life to a better understanding of small-scale physical-biological interactions and modellling. He was always an encouraging person for keen young scientists with whom he shared generously his ideas.

This award is offered in recognition of outstanding achievement in any aspect of harmful algal research by a scientist early in their career (i.e. within ten years of receiving their PhD). The award is intended for an exceptional or “break-through” contribution to an area of harmful alga research, rather than a cumulative record of achievement. The nominee should be an ISSHA member (see the membership list). Previous recipients: Dr. Chris Scholin (2002), Dr Rosa I. Figueroa (2008), Dr. Dedmer van de Waal (2016).

Any ISSHA member in good standing may submit nominations for either achievement award, which should include a description of the nominee’s contribution (not more than one page). Nominations are sent to the Chair of the ISSHA Awards Committee, Marta Estrada, when the call for nominations is open.

Nominations are considered by the ISSHA Council and eventual awards are presented at the International Conferences on Harmful Algae.

The Maureen Keller Student Award for best student presentations at ICHA

Students are the future of the Society, and ISSHA wish to promote their contributions during the ICHA.

The name of this award was given to honor Dr Maureen Keller (1954-1999), from the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences (USA), for her contribution to the ecology and physiology of harmful algal species and her dedication to laboratory cultures during her short career.

The Maureen Keller Award is given to outstanding graduate student oral and poster communications at the ICHA. Conference participants are chosen in advance to review students' presentations. The evaluations are processed by the ISSHA Awards Committee and awardees are announced during the ICHA closing ceremony.

The presentations are evaluated based on the following critera:

1. Clearly stated hypothesis or objective
2. Scientific merit and originality
3. Coherence (logical relations of intro, data, conclusions)
4. Intelligibility (selection of important points to present, brevity, accuracy, and clarity of expression)
5. Presentation (appearance, layout, clarity)

Donations to achievement awards can be made at the ISSHA web shop.



Ted Smayda in memoriam


Ted Smayda passed away on April 5, 2017

HAN 56


The new issue of Harmful Algae News is now available here:

17th ICHA proceeding: deadline extended until 31st March 2017


For instructions, please consult:

Mexican and Latin American HAB Conference in October 2017 in Cancun, Mexico


Mark your calendar! More information at:

Shopping basket

Your basket is empty